Get the Latest News Updates

ECP schedules by-polls on NA seats vacated by PTI

ISLAMABAD: Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has scheduled the by-polls on nine National Assembly (NA) seats vacated by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI).
The seats were previously occupied by members who had been elected on PTI tickets.
According to the schedule notified by ECP on Friday, hopefuls can submit their nomination papers to the returning officer between August 10-13.
The polling day has been scheduled for September 25.
Names of nominated candidates will be published on August 14 while an appellate tribunal of the ECP will have until August 25 to decide on all appeals against the decisions of the returning officer to accept or reject nominations.
The polls will be held for NA-22 Mardan-III, NA-24 Charsadda-II, NA-31 Peshawar-V, NA-45 Kurram-I, NA-108 Faisalabad-VIII, NA-118 Nankana Sahib-II, NA-237 Malir-II, NA-239 Korangi Karachi-I, NA-246 Karachi South-I.
Meanwhile, ECP has directed PTI to nominate their names for the vacant reserved seats of Dr Shireen Mazari and Shandana Gulzar.
National Assembly Speaker Raja Pervaiz Ashraf on July 28 accepted the resignations of 11 Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) members exactly 109 days after they resigned from their seats.
With the move, the process of accepting the resignations formally began.
The NA Secretariat officials said that the resignations were accepted after fulfilling the requirements under the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the National Assembly, 2007.