Get the Latest News Updates

How much will PSL 8’s prize money be?

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced on Sunday how much money the team that wins the 24-carat “Supernova Trophy” in the eighth Pakistan Super League will get (PSL).

The team that wins will get the Supernova Trophy and a check for Rs120 million. The team that comes in second will get a check for Rs48 million.

In PSL 2022, the winning team got Rs80 million, and the team that came in second place got Rs32 million.

Tomorrow (Monday), Multan will host the opening ceremony for PSL 8, which will be followed by the first game between the defending champion Lahore Qalandars and the 2021 champion Multan Sultans.

The final and closing ceremony will be on March 19 in Lahore, which is also where the playoffs will be held.

The Qalandars will try to become the first team to win back-to-back titles, while Islamabad United will try to become the most successful team by lifting the trophy three times.

All six teams have won the PSL title at least once, which shows how good the teams are and how tough the competition is in the league.

In 2016 and 2018, the title went to Islamabad United. The 2017 winner was Peshawar Zalmi. Quetta Gladiators won the 2019 competition. They were the runner-up in the first two. Karachi Kings beat Lahore Qalandars easily in Karachi in 2020 to become the first team to win and take home the trophy. The first title was won by Multan Sultans in 2021. Last year, the PSL trophy was brought to Lahore by the Lahore Qalandars.

The PSL 8 will have two parts. From February 13 to 26, matches will be held at Multan Cricket Stadium and National Bank Cricket Arena. From February 26 to March 19, matches will be held at Gaddafi Stadium and Pindi Cricket Stadium. This includes the Qualifier, two Eliminators, and the Final, which will be held from March 15-19 at the home of Pakistan cricket.

Rawalpindi will host 11 games, Karachi and Lahore will each host 9 games, and Multan will host 5 games.

Matches in the afternoon will begin at 2pm local time, while matches in the evening will begin at 7pm in Karachi, Lahore, and Rawalpindi. Evening games in Multan will start at 6 p.m., except for the first game of the tournament, which will start at 8 p.m.

The Pakistan Women’s League will also have its soft launch during the PSL 8. On March 8, 10, and 11, three exhibition games will be played in Rawalpindi before the men’s games. The two women’s teams will likely have some of the best local and international players. More information will be released in due time.