Get the Latest News Updates

Netflix suspends ‘The Crown’ filming after death of Queen Elizabeth

The coming season is expected to cover events in the early and mid-1990s.
Netflix’s Emmy-winning drama “The Crown” paused filming of its sixth and final season on Friday following the death of Britain’s Queen Elizabeth, a central figure on the show.
The streaming service said production was suspended “as a mark or respect” for the monarch, who died Thursday at age 96 after 70 years on the throne. Filming also will be stopped on the day of the queen’s funeral, Netflix said.
Claire Foy won two Emmys and a Golden Globe for playing Queen Elizabeth as a young woman who suddenly became queen at age 25.
Olivia Colman took on the role in the third and fourth seasons, and Imelda Staunton will play Elizabeth in the fifth installment, which is set to debut on Netflix in November.
The coming season is expected to cover events in the early and mid-1990s including the divorce of Prince Charles and Princess Diana.
Elizabeth II (Elizabeth Alexandra Mary; 21 April 1926 – 8 September 2022) was Queen of the United Kingdom and the other Commonwealth realms from 6 February 1952 until her death in 2022.
She was queen regnant of 32 sovereign states during her life and served as monarch of 15 of them at the time of her death.
Her reign of 70 years and 214 days is the longest of any British monarch and the longest recorded of any female head of state in history.
Elizabeth was born in Mayfair, London, as the first child of the Duke and Duchess of York (later King George VI and Queen Elizabeth).
Her father acceded to the throne in 1936 upon the abdication of his brother, King Edward VIII, making Elizabeth the heir presumptive.
She was educated privately at home and began to undertake public duties during the Second World War, serving in the Auxiliary Territorial Service.
In November 1947, she married Philip Mountbatten, a former prince of Greece and Denmark, and their marriage lasted 73 years until his death in April 2021.
They had four children: Charles III; Anne, Princess Royal; Prince Andrew, Duke of York; and Prince Edward, Earl of Wessex.