Google will delete accounts that haven’t been used since December.
Alphabet Inc.’s Google said on Tuesday that it will delete accounts that haven’t been used in two years starting in December. The company is doing this to prevent security risks like hacking.
The company said that if a Google account hadn’t been used or logged into for at least two years, the account and all of its material could be deleted from Google Workspace, which includes Gmail, Docs, Drive, Meet, Calendar, and YouTube.
The change in policy only affects personal Google accounts, not accounts for schools or companies.
Google had said that it would remove information from inactive accounts in 2020, but not the accounts themselves.
Starting on Tuesday, Google will send multiple notices to the account email address and recovery email of idle accounts before deleting them.
Last week, Elon Musk said that Twitter would delete and store accounts that haven’t been used in a few years. He said that this was “important to free up abandoned handles.”