Get the Latest News Updates

Pakistan’s first game in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup is against India.

Pakistan’s women’s team will try to make it to the semi-finals of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup for the first time when they play India at the Newlands in Cape Town on Sunday. The tournament has ten teams.

Bismah Maroof will lead the team for the second time at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup. She was captain of the team in the last tournament, which was held in Australia in 2020.

She will play in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup for the eighth time, along with the first batter Javeria Khan.

Pakistan’s 15-person team includes leg-spinner Tuba, right-handed opener Sidra Amin, and all-rounder Nida Dar, who won ICC Player of the Month awards last year.

Nida, who was born in Gujranwala and has played in 126 T20Is, has 121 wickets. She needs five more wickets to pass Anisa Mohammad of the West Indies, who has 125 wickets, and become the highest wicket-taker in this format of women’s cricket.

The Pakistani team will also be counting on experienced batter Aliya Riaz and young, hard-hitting batter Ayesha Naseem to do well with the bat in the middle overs. ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year 2021 Fatima Sana, who will play her first T20I in the mega event, will lead the bowling unit.

Fatima will be helped by the experienced Aimen Anwar. Spinners Nashra Sandhu, Sadia Iqbal, and Tuba will also be there to give the bowling department stability.

Aliya and Nida are also good with the ball. Aliya bowls with a medium spin with her right arm, and Nida bowls with an off-spin with her right arm.

Pakistan is in Group B. They will play their first game of the tournament tomorrow at Newlands, Cape Town. On February 15, they will play Ireland women in the evening at the same place.

The team will then go to Boland Park, Paarl, for their third Group B match against West Indies on February 19. They will then come back to the Newlands for their last Group B match against England on February 21.

The semi-finals will be held on February 23 and 24, and the final will be on February 26. All three games will take place at Cape Town’s Newlands.

Squad: Bismah Maroof (c), Aimen Anwar, Aliya Riaz, Ayesha Naseem, Fatima Sana, Javeria Khan, Muneeba Ali (wk), Nashra Sandhu, Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Sadaf Shamas, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Amin, Sidra Nawaz (wk) and Tuba Hassan

Ghulam Fatima and Kainat Imtiaz are the reserves.

Pakistan’s match against India in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 will be on February 12 at 6:00 p.m. PKT at Newlands in Cape Town.

Ireland vs. 15 February, Newlands, Cape Town, 2200 PKT

19 February v West Indies at Boland Park, Paarl, 1800 PKT

England vs. 21 February, Newlands, Cape Town, 1800 PKT